Silver Rose Awards

Current affairs

The Progressive Civil Society Award

What are the Silver Rose Awards?

Since the year 2000, SOLIDAR organises annually its Silver Rose Awards in the European Parliament in cooperation with the S&D Group, an occasion to celebrate Civil Society Organisations and individuals whose extraordinary struggles contribute greatly to social justice and solidarity throughout the world.

For the 2022 edition, the awards will be on the theme of Peace & Common Security and Lifetime Achievement. Find more information in the 2022 call for nominations here.

Who nominates? Who decides?

Nominations are made by Civil Society Organisations and selected by a jury composed of its representatives, trade unionists and policy makers. The winners are chosen based on their significant involvement in Civil Society activities and their contribution to social justice and solidarity worldwide.
The ceremony brings together a wide audience of like-minded individuals with backgrounds in civil society, trade union and politics, to strengthen once again our alliance and inspire us all to make our efforts and activities matter to achieve a world with social justice and solidarity.

For the 2022 edition, the Jury is composed of:

MEP Massimiliano Smeriglio

MEP Tonino Picula

MEP Rovana Plumb

SOLIDAR Board and former Board members Francisca Sauquillo,Anna Sundström and María del Rosario Sánchez

PES Executive Secretary General Giacomo Filibeck

PES Deputy Secretary General Saar Van Bueren 

Who are previous winners?

The people and organisations who have had the honour to come up on the Silver Rose stage to receive their award vary from grass roots human rights activists, to academics who have done research on the societal consequences of inequality, to undercover journalists who have shun light on lower class working conditions.
Former winners of the SOLIDAR Silver Rose Awards include; Juan Somavia (2005), the former General Director of the International Labor Organization, the Sudan Organisation Against Torture (2006), Aminatou Haidar (2007), Western Sahara human rights defender, Plataforma de Mujeres Aristas contra la Violencia de Genero (2007), Spanish group of musicians, the Columbian Trade Union  Federations (2010), Gunter Wallraff (2015), German author and undercover journalist, and many more.
You can find a file in this page with all the names of previous winners, sorted by year.

Where can I register to attend the event? 

SOLIDAR will open a dedicated page to register when the time is set.

Who are the latest edition's awardees?

You can find the story of Myrtle Witbooi and key highlights from the 2021 event here.

More questions?

Email us at

All ongoing work